Search: Go

Marine Charter

We the undersigned support Wildlife and Countryside Link’s call for the swift designation of a representative and well managed Ecologically Coherent Network of Marine Protected Areas in UK seas by 2016.

We call on this and future Governments to ensure that this network meets international principles on coherence, and represents the full range of features in the UK seas as required by the relevant Marine Acts.

The full network must include ambitious proposals within the commitment to two future tranches of Marine Conservation Zones in English Seas in 2015/16, alongside wider marine protected areas, and must be well managed to maintain sites that are in good condition and recover those that are damaged.

Such a network is essential not only to stem the alarming decline in marine habitats and species, but also to ensure that the enormous social and economic benefits derived from marine goods and services can be realised for generations to come.

Rt Hon. Ben Bradshaw MP (Former Labour Defra Minister)Richard Benyon MP (Former Conservative Defra Minister)Roger Williams MP CBE (Liberal Democrat Defra Spokesperson)
Rt Hon. Caroline Spelman MPAndrew George MPZac Goldsmith MP
Rt Hon. Sir John Randall MPAdrian Sanders MPDr Alan Whitehead MP
Debbie Abrahams MPDavid Amess MPDavid Anderson MP
James Arbuthnot MPHugh Bayley MPLord Black of Brentwood
Sir Peter Bottomley MPAnnette Brooke OBE MPLord Brooke
Russell Brown MPRobert Buckland MPRt Hon Simon Burns MP
Neil Carmichael MPMartin Caton MPLord Chorley
Katy Clark MPLord Clark of WindemereMichael Connarty MP
David Crausby MPLord CrickhowellAlex Cunningham MP
Sir Tony Cunningham MPNic Dakin MPRt Hon John Denham MP
Caroline Dineage MPJim Dobbin MPFrank Dobson MP
Frank Doran MPMark Durkan MPGraeme Evans MP
Rt Hon Frank Field MPPaul Flynn MPMark Francois MP
Stephen Gilbert MPRt Hon Cheryl Gillan MPRoger Godsiff MP
Nia Griffith MPAndrew Gwynne MPDuncan Hames MP
Sir Nick Harvey MPLord HaworthDavid Heath CBE MP
Julie Hilling MPBaroness HiltonGeorge Hollingbery MP
Martin Horwood MPBaroness HowarthBaron Hunt of Chesterton
Mark Hunter MPGlenda Jackson MPCathy Jamieson MP
Bernard Jenkin MPBaroness JonesLord Judd
Rt Hon Sir GeraldKaufman MPBarbara Keeley MPMark Lazarowicz MP
John Leech MPCharlotte Leslie MPEmma Lewell-Buck MP
The Earl of ListowelTim Loughton MPDr Caroline Lucas MP
Steve McCabe MPMichael McCann MPKerry McCarthy MP
John McDonnell MPJason McCartney MPAnne McKechin MP
John Mann MPLord May of OxfordAndrew Miller MP
Baroness MillerMadeleine Moon MPPenny Mordaunt MP
Graeme Morrice MPGrahame Morris MPStephen Mosley MP
Caroline Nokes MPDr Matthew Offord MPSandra Osborne MP
Rt Hon Sir Richard OttawayMPLord RookerAndrew Rosindell MP
Chris Ruane MPSir Bob Russell MPAlison Seabeck MP
Gavin Shuker MPAndy Slaughter MPAndrew Smith MP
Henry Smith MPBishop of S.t AlbansLord Stoddart
Lord StoreyRt Hon Sir Andrew StunellOBE MPMike Thornton MP
Justin Tomlinson MPCharles Walker MPJoan Walley MP
Mike Weatherley MPMike Weir MPMark Williams MP
Stephen Williams MPDr Sarah Wollaston MPMike Wood MP
Valerie Vaz MPBaroness Young ofOldScone 


To sign up or for more information please email:

Wildlife and Countryside Link (Link) represents more than 8 million people through 44 voluntary organisations concerned with the conservation and protection of wildlife. Link’s Marine Charter is supported by the following organisations: